Board of Management

The Board of Management of St Patrick’s College manages the school on behalf of Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim ETB, in accordance with legislation; Department of Education and Skills (DES) circulars, guidelines and procedures; and any policies or strategies that the ETB may establish regarding the operation of its schools.

The primary role of a board of management is one of governance. Governance is about providing direction and oversight for a school while ensuring that the rights of all members of the school community are upheld and that the school is accountable for its work. The functions of a board may, in the main, be categorised under three different headings:

  • Policy setting and strategic planning
  • Monitoring the implementation of policy, strategy, and plans
  • Supporting the principal and his/her staff



  • Gerard Murphy (Chairperson)
  • Brian Jennings (Secretary)
  • Mary Mc Gregor
  • Seán Carey
  • Maria Donoghue
  • Joe Mc Donnell
  • Barbara Mitchell
  • Michael Bolger

The St Patrick’s College, Lacken Cross, Board of Management meets several times each year to fulfill its duties.

All correspondence to the board should be directed to the secretary.